booksnoob.blogg.se

Electra westone guitar kahler tremelo
Electra westone guitar kahler tremelo





electra westone guitar kahler tremelo

You often hear Matsumoku referred in hushed and reverent tones, but most of the Japanese companies were capable of making great guitars, and by design there were few if any tell tale marks left on these guitars to identify their origin, both frustrating and part of the charm of collecting them I suppose. Many variables, but the condensed version is that they were dealing with multiple suppliers, who in turn had multiple manufacturers.

electra westone guitar kahler tremelo

I don't consider myself an authority, but there are more than a few threads on here about the history of the Electra name, and that if memory serves, PCM predates the SLM Electra distribution, even though SLM has been in business since 1922, and there are a couple of references that the two 'houses' are related somehow.īefore about 1975 both SLM and PCM offerings seem to vary in consistency, which is to say that either brand was capable of supplying great instruments, and some not-so-great items. Thanks!Īndy, sorry to hear about your back surgery, and hope that it will only get better, even worse is the doctors orders not to play your guitar, hasn't he ever heard of Musical Therapy? From some of the pictures I can see that the back is solid with a cap of maple? Is it possibly chambered?Īnyway, let me know what I can provide and I'm open to any insght.

electra westone guitar kahler tremelo

The only lettering I've found is the logo and "JB" written in marker ib the bottom of the neck pickup. I dont have one of the entire back of the headstock, but there is nothing there. I have it here, although I'm not allowed to play it until I heal, but I can get pics of it if any parts will help identify it. Quality better/worse? Cheaper/more expensive? From Matsumoku? Did I read that they were brothers? I'm not too familiar with the PCM models and had only recently gotten into trying to find out more about them. I'm pretty sure I got the better end of the deal. I live in Columbus, OH and I got it from a guy in Gallipolis, OH (near WVA) who knew absolutely nothing about it. There a couple cosmetic issues here and there that need cleaned up and a spot on the underside of the fretboard where the binding broke and has been repaired. The electronics box needs a little solder work, but it sounds great. I once owned a Gibson 72 LP Standard and this just kills it.

#ELECTRA WESTONE GUITAR KAHLER TREMELO SERIAL NUMBER#

Any serial number or other identifying marks there? Too bad there aren't any complete photos of the back of the headstock. Did you take the trade or are you still on the fence? Tell us what guitars you've had in the past, and the ones you held on to! Cheers, Mike. Is it on the West Coast? The PCM's are more common there. It's a tough call, there are always those elusive prototype or one-off theories, but with that logo and being a set neck, I'd say PCM.

electra westone guitar kahler tremelo

If I were a betting man, I'd say it's a PCM distributed model, which according to X189 almost no literature or advertising material has been found, so that is hard to substantiate. There is something not quite right about the openbook headstock, and the paint has a very wide outer band of color (most SLM's had a fairly skinny outer band of the sunburst). The only LP's with set neck that SLM made were the Omegas (X220), and they would have had the Peace Sign logo. Since it is a set neck, it can't be a 'Super Rock' (2245).







Electra westone guitar kahler tremelo